Thing 7: Real Life Networks

I joined CILIP so that I could work towards my CILIP Certification, but I’ve taken advantage of training and networking days as well. I also recently joined the committee for the Career Development Group (CDG) West Midlands having met a few of the members at the Information and Networking day in Coventry in April (they co-hosted with the CILIP West Midlands branch). Other events that I’ve attended include a Framework of Qualifications and Library tour in Rugby Public Library and in July I am attending the Health Libraries Group (HLG) Conference in Glasgow – so I can definitely say I’ve had my money’s worth from this year’s membership!

As previously mentioned I am undertaking one of CILIP’s professional qualifications and I’m hoping to take this through to Chartership. It was the clear stages and advancements that were on offer that attracted me to this over an NVQ as it allows be to build on my Masters Degree and eventually qualify as a Librarian.

In regards to publications, so far I’ve written articles for the CDG West Midlands and HLG newsletters, but I also have second articles for both in the works as well (one has been submitted for the CDG July Newsletter and I have agreed to write one for the HLG September Newsletter about the Conference in Glasgow). I think even in these relatively small publications, it is an easy way to get your name out there.

I’ve also been doing some work with the NHS Midlands Regional Trainers Forum on the ‘Sharing Training Materials’ sub-group and the suggestion has been made that when we finish our project we may be asked to write an article for the Health Libraries Journal. If we are I think I might offer to help co-write; the opportunity to get published in a ‘proper’ journal is too good to pass up!

In February I also attended a training networking event run by the West Midlands Health Libraries Network. This was a really good day – the focus was on marketing and I learnt a lot about what the other West Midlands Health Libraries are doing, both from the timetabled seminars and from the marketing ‘mix-up’ where everybody provided examples of what works for them. This was a really good opportunity and I would recommend attending future sessions, or even organising something similar for your sector.

I will be attending the CPD23/ CILIP West Midlands meet-up on Thursday in Wolverhampton so I look forward to meeting some of you there.

2 Comments

Filed under CPD23

2 responses to “Thing 7: Real Life Networks

  1. Really glad you can make it on Thursday – see you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

